Study in New Zealand

Education system in New Zealand follows the three-tier model of primary, secondary, and tertiary or post-secondary. This generally includes universities, private institutions, colleges, and polytechnics. New Zealand's educational institutions offer quality secondary school education, a well-established network of English-language schools, and internationally respected and recognized tertiary education providers. The New Zealand Qualifications Authority (NZQA) regulates post-secondary education. As well as state-owned education providers, there are approximately 860 private training establishments (PTEs) in New Zealand. They are privately owned and funded, although some of their courses attract government funding and they include quality English-language providers. They offer a wide variety of courses that lead to qualifications in a large range of vocations from scuba diving to hospitality to business. NZQA requires that Private Training Establishments (PTEs) have adequate protection of student fees and tuition. Polytechnics offer education and training at tertiary levels ranging from introductory studies through to full degree programs. They deliver technical, vocational, and professional education. There are 23 polytechnics or institutes of technology in New Zealand. The National Qualifications Framework is a system of national qualifications available through study in schools, polytechnics, colleges of education, etc. The Framework provides nationally recognized, consistent standards and qualifications. The Framework is endorsed and supported by New Zealand's education and training providers, employers and national industry and professional groups. It is compatible with similar systems in the U.K., Europe, South Africa, Australia, and North America. There are 10 levels of study in New Zealand schools and universities. The lowest level is a certificate and the highest is a doctoral degree. Each level is more complex than the one below it. These are the names of our qualifications and their levels:
• Certificates are levels 1 to 4
• Diplomas are levels 5 and 6
• Bachelor’s degree and graduate diplomas are level 7
• Post graduate certificate and diplomas and bachelor’s degree with honors are level 8
• Master’s degrees are level 9
• Doctoral degrees are level 10
Cost of Education:
Undergraduate degree: NZ$ 18,000 - NZ$ 25,000 per year
Diploma and Post Graduate Diploma: NZ$ 10,000 - NZ$ 20,000 per year
Post –graduate Degree: NZ$ 20,000 - NZ$ 30,000
Estimated Living Expenses: NZ$10,000-NZ$ 12,000 P.A

Get Started